And the summer days draw to a close…

9 09 2009

Growing up, I remember getting excited that summer was coming. The days in San Gabriel were getting longer, the Santa Ana winds meant the hot days felt hotter, and the heat of afternoon recess made me drowsy. Didn’t help that school didn’t have A/C. Which usually wasn’t a problem until those last couple weeks before the year ended. I remember looking forward to days in the pool, pretending to be the little mermaid with my cousins, and then laying on the sidewalk to dry off, which never took that long. I remember going to Lacey Park, playing with My Little Ponies, and going to Hotel Del Coronado. I remember waking up to the delicious smell of the sprinklers creating steam on the sidewalk and watching Under the Umbrella Tree (did anyone else watch that show??) with Cocoa Puffs in the mornings. I loved reading as many books as I could every day, keeping a tally, and then when the new school year started we did something for the amount of books we read… too bad I don’t remember what? Anyway. I loved summers. Most days. The only disadvantage to going to private school meant that your friends didn’t really live nearby. And the cousins couldn’t always come over. Summers were full of lazy days and seemingly endless possibilities. And then by the time September drew near, I was so excited to buy new school supplies and meet my teacher. (Yes, I am a self-proclaimed dork. I love buying new notebooks, pencils, pencil boxes, stickies, pens, etc…)

Now, I can’t believe the summer is already over! I guess that’s what responsibility does. I hope my kids will enjoy their summers as much as I did. This year, well, Cana was born in June, so it was a busy one, but I think it was still a fun one for Vaden Elliot. He started walking, talking, and eating “cookies” (his new favorite word for anything that looks good. Especially animal crackers.)  He loved going to the pool, the park, playing with his auntie, tios and tias, he loves his new room (since we moved in May), and he got to make some new friends.

IMG_5961

He got his first haircut of many already.

IMG_6064

IMG_6083

One of my high school buddies –Daniel, his wife, Ashley, and their son, Jacob were in town from AZ, and we not only enjoyed dinner together, but our boys (10 days apart or so) sure did play!

IMG_8002

IMG_8006

Right before I sold this car, the gang joined Vaden for some loving.

DSCN5166

Vaden liked the sand…not entirely thrilled with the water. I think his most fave thing was running away from it!

IMG_0388

IMG_0350

IMG_0391

IMG_0410

v-beach-1

And then he melted down.

v-beach

A big thank you to the Byrds who cared for the babies while we shot Emily & Andy’s Wedding!

Byrds

We love the new Joyner Park!

IMG_9589x

IMG_9677

IMG_9788x

IMG_9778x

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 09 2009
MamaCass

that last picture is just precious.

18 09 2009
Ashley

Was just curious how life has been treating you all and to see how your adorable kiddos are doing… They both look so different than just mere months ago. Amazing how that happens so quickly! We’re thinking of you all from way out West and sending lots of love<3

Leave a Reply

