Ethiopia: a journey of love

31 08 2009

So for those of you who know me (melissa),  you know I come from a very *lively* family. Yeah, we’re loud, we eat a lot, we talk with our hands, we speak spangliharic…but we our family is full of love. For those of you who know my family recently, you know that six years ago my parents first adopted my brothers Jeremiah and James. Two years ago, they added Josiah, Keziah and Keren to the household. And all along the way there have been others who were not legally adopted, but were “adopted” in love. Solomon Bekele is one of those boys. My parents met him in November 2007 at Kolfe Boys Orphanage in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. He stood out to my mom immediately, and she got his email address and began mothering a young man through email, letters and care packages. This boy was orphaned, and entered the orphanage at the age of ten with no living family.

Long story short, my mom went out to Addis to be there with Solomon for his graduation and help him transition out of orphanage life into living with a family we came into contact with through their son, who was studying here this past year. Our cousin George went along to video/photograph the trip. I can’t wait to see the footage! Solomon was the first boy from Kolfe to be accepted into Infonet College, and he not only graduated as a top scorer in his marketing division, but he succeeded as valedictorian for the entire school! Read my mom’s blog for the latest. It’s a tearjerker post. Amazing.
Check out this slideshow my sister made from their first trip.
View this montage created at One True Media
The Kolfe Orphanage, Ethiopia

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 09 2009
The Big 5-0… « Tesoro Photography’s Weblog

[…] with all her pics thanks to my cousin George, who was the video/photographer, as I mentioned in this post and here it […]

6 10 2009
The Big 5-0… » Tesoro Photography's Blog

[…] with all her pics thanks to my cousin George, who was the video/photographer, as I mentioned in this post and here it […]

Leave a Reply

