HALLELUJAH!

19 06 2008

It’s a big day in the Pearce household! Vaden Elliot slept through the night!! After night before last of very little sleep I cracked open the Babywise book and got to work. I feel that it’s time now, he doesn’t need to be in our room anymore. He’s been sleeping the first 5 hours or so in his crib for the last several days, but we would put him down after rocking him or nursing, or holding him to sleep. So throughout the day, I fed him, kept him awake, and then put him down to nap. I kept him on his 3-4 hour routine cycle throughout the day, just being more conscientious of his napping.

Last night, about 30 minutes after I fed him, we swaddled him, tucked him in and said “goodnight”. He cried. Tick-tock. 5 minutes passed. He still cried. I said “Babe, maybe we should check his diaper?” He calmed down when Randy picked him up. He changed him, though he was only slightly wet and back to bed. He cried. and cried. and cried. We checked him again. More crying. This time was it. It seemed like forever, but it was 20 minutes. Silence.

“Do you think he’s okay?” I asked.

“He’s fine. He’s finally tired of crying.”

I waited a few more minutes and then tip-toed in to make sure he didn’t spit up all over himself. And I found a peacefully sleeping baby. It was 11pm. It had taken about an hour overall.

I was still reading On Becoming Babywise for another twenty minutes or so. Then I talked Randy’s ears off for another 30 or so.

Sweet saffron light creeps into our room. I look over at the clock. 6:15am! “Is our child ok?”

I jump out of bed. I creep into his room and what do I find? A sweetly sleeping babe. Hallelujah! Praise the Lord. I can’t believe it! I think keeping his extra blanket tucked into the crib prevented him from being cold, and maybe this is why he didn’t wake up at 4/5 am. That, and I kept him on a feed/waketime/naptime routine yesterday.

Hey, I am no new fool. This may have been a lucky first start and tonight may be an entirely different story. What I am praising the Lord for is 6 CONSECUTIVE HOURS OF SLEEP! I haven’t had that since I was maybe 7 months pregnant! Before I got too big to be comfortable. Randy hasn’t had that long of a stretch since Vaden was born, I think. Today was Randy’s day off, so he was so excited to feel rested before noon! He actually went to play golf this morning! (tee time 7:40am!)

Here are a few I snapped this morning of the little bug. He is trying to sit up in the third one.


Actions

Information

6 responses

19 06 2008
nicole wilson

hey melissa!
i’m so glad i found your blog! i love blogs!
great great great pictures!!!

and your little man is just a little squish monster!!!
~nicole

19 06 2008
ellie

I LOVE HIM!!! 🙂

19 06 2008
Renee Schreibman

Oh Melissa… he is so sweet and precious. I LOVE THE PHOTOS. He has changed so much already! What a lucky mom!

21 06 2008
Aunt Cyndee

What a handsome little man! I am so glad you are both able to sleep longer. I pray it continues. Oh my….my Lauren Marie is in for the ride of her life! Be sure to give her all the helpful pointers you can. Hugs and kisses to you three.

22 06 2008
Cassidy

in that third picture, he looks exactly like you, melissa! what a doll. glad you got some sleep!!!

23 06 2008
Meagan

Yay for sleep! The BabyWise schedule worked pretty well for Karis, too. Hope he continues to sleep all night!
Love,
Meagan

Leave a comment